I’m From Vitamin Tree Mask Review

My first experience with the brand, ‘I’m From’ was their exceptional Honey Mask which I now affectionately call, “Honey Boo Boo.” That jar of raw, honey deliciousness has become one of my favourite rinse-off masks ever. It even tastes pretty good. Naturally, I had to get those other ‘I’m From’ masks on my face. So, I did.

For months now, I’ve been twitching to share my thoughts on the Vitamin Tree Mask with you. I even filmed a review which was originally meant to be in a, “Current Favourite Masks” video. Alas, post-production veered a different course and that video ended up being focused only on Sheet Masks, displacing the other mask reviews… until now! Actually, the timing couldn’t be better as this mask is perfect for this maddening humidity and the endless heat waves.

What is I’m From Vitamin Tree Mask?
This is a farm-to-jar tea mask and I’m a sucker for tea in skincare, in anything really. This rinse-off mask claims to detoxify your skin, clean up congestion, brighten the complexion and soothe/calm any irritation or redness. This has a robust, almost home-made, earthy quality similar to the Honey mask except the dominant ingredient is the Vitamn Tree Tea leaf and extract. This tree sounds like something you would find in a children’s book, where fruity, vitamin gummies can be picked like apples. It is actually the endearing name given to Seabuckthorn trees in Korean skincare because it’s…full of vitamins.

Who Can Benefit?
All skin types including very sensitive. I find this mask particularly appropriate for the sticky, gooey Summer months when we have sunscreen applied and reapplied over layers of sweat and other stuff. This will also come in handy after long days of sun exposure and over-heating as it will calm, heal and protect the skin. This is not moisturizing like the Honey Mask which leaves a residual layer of moisture on your skin after rinsing, so those with oily, combo and easily congested skin need not fear.

When/How Do To Use?
I use this right after cleansing and apply it on dry skin. I leave this on for about 10 mins before rinsing off. Then I proceed with hydrating toner and the rest of the steps of my skincare routine. I believe the oilier your skin, the longer you can keep this mask on. I use this 1-2x a week. For reference, I don’t use any rinse-off treatments more than twice a week.

Details I love :
* Formula is 11.5% pure, mushed tea leaves. Each jar contains over 600 hand-harvested leaves. You can tell by the texture of the mask.
* 50.5% highly concentrated Vitamin Leaf Tea. Vitamins and nutrients from the leaves are extracted by brewing the tea in temperatures between 70-90 degrees which does not affect the nutritional value.
* Waterless formula.
* These tea leaves are rich in Vitamin C & E, essential amino acids and polyphenols such as Catechins which is a powerful anti-oxidant. Infact, there is apparently 7x the Catechins of Green Tea and defies oxidation!
* The trees have never been treated with chemical fertilizers
* The leaves and berries are harvested by hand to ensure the best quality and that the trees are not put under stress.
* Further nourishment and moisture is provided by the berries from the tree, Rose of Jericho, Snow Lotus and Cloudberry extracts

What I’m Not Into :
The scent is about as natural as they come and not in a good or subtle way. I can usually handle a pungent, earthy tang but there was no way this mask was staying on my face longer than it needed to. The smell vaguely reminds me of V8.

Full Ingredients :
Hippophae rhamnoides extract, glycerin, hippophae rhamnoides leaf, caprylic/ caprc triglyceride, cetyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, glyceryl stearate SE, Beeswax, sodium polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, polysorbate 60, sorbitan sesquioleate, stearyl alcohol, saussura involucrata extrat, selaginella lepidophylla extract, rubus chamaemorous fruit extract, hippophae rhamnoides fruit extract, sodium hyaluronate, jojoba seed oil, magnesium aluminium silicate, xanthan Gum, caprylhydroxamic acid, boswellia serrata Resin extract, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, disodium EDTA, Panthenol, ethylexylglycerin, ethyl ascorbyl ether

CosDNA Safety Ranking

Formulated without
Fragrances (obvi),silicones, artificial dyes, talc, benzophenone, mineral oils, harmful preservatives, unnecessary chemical additives.

Performance:
You can see in my video demo how this mask applies. This is a creamy, spreadable, dry paste that stays firmly in place not unlike a clay mask without any sloppy running or dripping. There is also nothing gritty about the mask, it’s smooth and soft to apply. This doesn’t really dry down either, it stays pretty much the same consistency throughout the 10 minutes and rinses off easily leaving no trace of residue. From the minute I’m rinsing my face, I can already feel the difference in my skin texture. It is immediately a lot smoother, silkier even. For a product without a physical exfoliating element or any acids or enzymes, this leaves my skin so soft and smooth, I can’t stop caressing my cheek. There is also noticeable brightness. This mask gives similar results to a good clay mask but without stripping and drying out my skin. I would recommend this as a gentle alternative that is as effective and will leave the skin feeling ‘detoxed’ and bright through the super power of anti-oxidants!

Conclusion:
I’ve already repurchased this mask and am working my way through the second jar if that’s any indication of how much I enjoy using it. Infact, my other clay masks are drying up from brutal neglect. I keep this in the fridge to preserve the freshness, and the coolness is a bonus during these heatwave days.

Currently, there are many new brightening masks out in the market which claim to give the same results. They have sophisticated formulas that contain enzymes, acids, anti-oxidants and cost a pretty penny. However, none of them hold a candle to the immediate results I get from this both in skin texture and brightening.

Rating : Highly recommend.

Wishing you great skin health!

gothamista renee chow youtube blog

 

 

 

38 Comments

  1. Ane
    July 29, 2017 / 9:31 pm

    Incredibly thorough rewiew! Love it❤️ Im convinced!! 👍

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 8:24 pm

      Thank you love!

  2. July 29, 2017 / 11:13 pm

    Have you compared this to the Fresh vitamin mask at all?

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 12:16 am

      Hello my sister-in-tea, if you mean Fresh’s vitamin nectar mask, I didn’t think the 2 are that comparable in that the nectar mask is crushed citrus albeit a high %, I think 50%. So the brightening comes from the natural fruit acids and wasn’t the gentlest on my skin!

      • July 31, 2017 / 1:05 pm

        Good to know! I tried a sample of the Fresh mask and found it kind of sting-y.

  3. Ladycheng
    July 30, 2017 / 12:58 am

    My dear Renee you’re filling me up with skincare wisdom! I have asked you before about this mask and like an answered prayer poof here you are talking about it. It’s one of the gentlest yet most effective mask I have used as well!

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 2:59 am

      Sorry it took so long for me to review but I agree! I don’t do clay anymore!

  4. July 30, 2017 / 1:28 am

    I was on the fence between the Vitamin mask and Ginseng mask! Would now pick up the Vitamin Mask 🙂 Also would love to know your views on the Ginseng mask once you get to try it 🙂 Thanks dear!

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 3:00 am

      Hello love! Go Vitamin mask. I’ve tried the Ginseng one and it’s not as special but also better for Winter, not great for Summer!

  5. Roy
    July 30, 2017 / 2:14 am

    Hi renee, may i know which site did u go to get such details like the % of ingredients used? Also there’s actually beeswax contained in this mask, won’t it clog pores for acne prone skin?

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 8:27 pm

      Hi Roy! The info is supplied by I’m From themselves. It’s actually on the site that I linked, just in Korean. For sensitive acne prone skin, I would worry more about the coconut oil derivatives. It does rinse off clean though it depends on how reactive your skin is!

      • Roy
        August 3, 2017 / 8:14 am

        Thx for replying! Have you tried it’s counterpart the vitamin tree gel? Like someone mentioned below i wanna try this but it does kinda seem to have lotsa acne causing ingredients. Which will u say uve seen a greater effect: vitamin tree vs honey mask.
        Also i will like to know your opinions on all natural skincare cosmetics, such as herbivore botanicals that uses natural preservatives like leucidal liquid and no emulsifiers etc. Do you think these products are effective in terms of formulation?

  6. Rea
    July 30, 2017 / 5:55 am

    Renee
    Im very much enjoy watching your youtube channel and totally gets lots of good info about skin care products THX for that
    But Im kinda skeptical bout certain brands you highly recommended which contains PEG
    Do you ever aware of this particular ingredients?
    This one also contains PEG-100 so.. I need to study more about this actually

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 8:29 pm

      I believe PEG-100 in skincare is not harmful to the skin so I’m not concerned about it.

  7. Hillary
    July 30, 2017 / 6:50 am

    This came at the perfect time when I was going to get a clay mask but I will definitely get this instead! I have combination/oily and I need this! Would you say this is a good replacement to a DIY matcha mask? Thank you Renee 😍

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 8:32 pm

      Hey Hillary, I feel like the I’m From Honey and Vitamin tree masks are DIY-but-better!

      • Hillary
        July 31, 2017 / 3:40 am

        Thanks for the honest reply! I want to try more of these 🙂 so you think for combination oily skin the vitamin tree mask would be better than the I’m from volcanic ash mask? Thank you for the first reply!! Lol

        • Renée
          July 31, 2017 / 12:27 pm

          Hey Hillary, I actually didn’t go for the volcanic ash mask because it sounded quite drying. I would say if you break out easily then the volcanic ash may be better but if you’re just combo/oily, then go with the vitamin tree!

          • Hillary
            July 31, 2017 / 11:24 pm

            Thanks x2 Renee 😘👍👍

  8. Rashu
    July 30, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    Cosdna shows a lot of acne causing ingredients. I guess acne prone skin should stay away from this green tea mask. I was really hoping to try this mask.

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 8:35 pm

      If you have very reactive skin then perhaps it would be better. Though this does wash off clean and I’ve heard people say it worked well with their acne prone skin but all skin reacts differently. If you break out from coconut oil derivatives in cleansers or beeswax etc then stay clear.

  9. Lynda
    July 30, 2017 / 7:46 pm

    hi Renee – i just have a general question. where and how do you find the most interesting and best products to review?!?! 😉

    • Renée
      July 30, 2017 / 8:33 pm

      Hehe! Thank you Linda! Sometimes I find them, and sometimes they find me! 😁

  10. Nour Abed
    July 31, 2017 / 2:22 pm

    Hi, Renée. I am from Algeria and i love so much for all your good news and information that make my skin really happy 🙂 . Please can you do a review or a video about the “Woolala Face Mask Machine”? thank you again :*

  11. Dian
    July 31, 2017 / 3:08 pm

    Hello Renee, may i know where to purchase this in Korea? Im currently having my honeymoon here. 😊

  12. July 31, 2017 / 4:03 pm

    Love your reviews as per usual. Very thorough and informative, already putting it on my wishlist!

  13. Michelle
    July 31, 2017 / 6:35 pm

    Hello Darling Renee,

    I am so excited that the western world is finally starting to learn about the amazing eastern skin care and makeup products. Putting form and function along with quality ingredients is key. Leaving luxe name brands struggling to catch up.

    After that long preamble, my point is what about the skin everywhere else on the body? Brands like Lush, Fresh, and Philosophy have inundated the market with high-priced, bad ingredient products for bath and body. If you could use your super powers for good, encourage our lovely eastern companies to offer alternatives that will be good for the skin and the wallet. I am trying my hand at DIY bath bombs. Hopefully, I won’t blow anything up. LOL!

    Adore you!

    • Renée
      July 31, 2017 / 11:09 pm

      Hey you! Yes, I will definitely be putting together a body skincare video at some point! Its been stewing! You’re so right, I’m always amazed by how Lush gets away with an image of being so natural and good when their ingredients can be quite questionable! If the bath bomb does blow up, that would be a whole new level of skintertainment!

  14. Lindsay
    August 1, 2017 / 12:17 pm

    Morning, I can’t find where to buy it online, do you happen to have a link, thanks!

    • Renée
      August 1, 2017 / 3:37 pm

      Yes Lindsay, please click the product picture below on the article. That will link you to where to buy!

  15. Betty
    August 6, 2017 / 12:35 pm

    ❤️ The Blog! A bit off topic but sparked off by the word ‘vitamin’, would love to see a review on your thoughts of the best multivitamins for women. Recently saw the new one from Ritual which claims to be all a woman needs in her daily but there are so many products out there, what do you use? Your the best, thanks!

    • Renée
      August 7, 2017 / 9:25 am

      A our thoughts are aligned! I was actually thinking about this!

  16. Sooyoung
    August 10, 2017 / 8:35 am

    Hey Renee, awesome review! I’m so glad I stumbled across it because I’m looking for a new wash-off mask. I searched for the product on Skincarisma here: http://www.skincarisma.com/products/i-m-from-vitamin-tree-mask and according to that website it has Ethyl Ascorbyl Ether which helps brightening.

    I did some more research and it seems Ethyl Ascorbyl Ether is a form of vitamin C – I know you said you saw brightness but I wanted to know do you think it’s substantial enough because fading my hyperpigmentation is my main concern right now!

  17. August 12, 2017 / 10:57 pm

    I finally found your blog! I enjoy your videos and extensive knowledge on beauty products. You are so pleasant to listen to – straight to the point, no BS, and no cutesy crap. I love it. You go Renee!

    • Renée
      August 21, 2017 / 9:44 am

      Girl, thank you sooo much! Happy you found me! Definitely no cutesy crap here. I tried it, but just ended up hating myself 😜

  18. Ally
    August 14, 2017 / 5:20 am

    Renee, I love your soothing approach to skincare! I have the same type of skin and find your reviews so so helpful. Big, big thank you! I was wondering what your take was on beauty devices and if would review any? I have heard good things about Dermawand and Nuface devices and would love to know your thoughts!

  19. Anneli
    October 7, 2017 / 5:12 pm

    Hi Renee,

    Really love ur blog and youtube channel, changed my skin so much!
    Was a bit curious (if I may ask): which mask do you prefer form the brand ‘I’m From’ (honey, vitamin tree, etc.)?

    Greetings from the Netherlands 🙂

  20. Moonchild
    October 30, 2017 / 4:33 am

    I’m really curious… In your opinion, what’s the difference in the benefits offered by a sheet masks vs. a wash-off mask?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *